Tags

, , ,

A typical Jakarta citizen will know that the gubernatorial election has finished. The current governor (soon to be former) Fauzi Bowo doesn’t get his second term, and Jakarta will get her new governor. A more observant, technology-oriented person will note that one of the last acts of Fauzi Bowo administration is the  installation of free public wireless access points at several places in Jakarta.

I only noticed the existence of the public wi-fi system yesterday, when I was trying to use a borrowed iPhone on the go. The phone was supposed to be connected to XL cellular data network, which seemed to be nonexistent not long after I paid the fee. The iPhone seems to refuse to connect to other data network other than 3G (EDGE or GPRS might have existed). I might haven’t been able to use the phone on the the Transjakarta bus if the access points hadn’t been installed yet. Not all Transjakarta bus stops have the access points: it seems only the ones on the Kota-Blok M route get it. I also noted the existence of several access points in the Monas area.

The Wi-Fi system may be helpful to me, but I really question the usefulness of the access points at the bus stops in general. People generally don’t sit down and open their laptops or tablets at such places, and more often will access the  Internet using their phones, which have their own connection to cellular data network. As my friend said, adding more buses to  the Transjakarta fleet will be much more useful to Jakarta residents than free Wi-Fi at the bus stops.

